top of page
Search
  • kemiaudrey

On becoming an Innovator – An Impactful Journey

Whilst reflecting on the recently concluded four weeks, I have look at myself in the mirror with so much gratitude. “Why am I filled with this immense amount of gratitude?” I ask myself...


I am grateful for “The Innovate for Africa Training”, as it has made me see beyond my initial limitations and I have been set on a more vivid path to see things differently. I used to think that “innovation” was only for “geeks” but now I see this from a different perspective because I have been groomed to be an “innovator”. This is an achievement I am particular proud of. In summary, my 4-weeks intensive course outline included- Strategy Project; Project Management; Personal Branding; Introduction to Design Thinking; Hackathon and Product Development, Match Day and Job Resumption preparation. In the course of the entire month I turned in a total of 19 assignments, 2 presentations and 3 blog posts honourably.


Interestingly, as little as it might seem I learnt a new word “reiterate” which is a synonym for repeat. This was used by our facilitators and some guest speakers as a way of ensuring certain concepts and ideas stuck to our minds.

One memorable experience was the two-day hackathon, which was an opportunity to apply all the knowledge acquired. It started off with a brainstorming session for ideas on problem areas around the COVID 19 pandemic. The design thinking approach was applied which enabled us to walk in the shoes of potential customers and understand the real problems they face. Below is a link to my blog post about the Hackathon:

https://kemiaudrey.wixsite.com/myportfolio/post/health-hero-bringing-healthcare-to-you-in-the-comfort-of-your-home


The IFA training was an overall rejuvenating experience for me which had an effect on every aspect of my life (professionally and personally).

We had an array of Guest Speakers with great minds. Each one of them took out time to share knowledge and insightful tips. Amongst all the speakers that were in attendance, I was particularly moved by the session with Mr Gbenga Oyebode of Aluko & Oyebode Law firm. He took us through his success journey and shared both the good, the bad and the ugly experiences along the way. In addition, he made us understand the importance of building a strong legacy, making an impact and giving back to the society above all.


Writing this article brings immense joy and fulfilment to my heart and I would advise any one reading this to take advantage of subsequent IFA training opportunities as it is being presented in the future!





17 views0 comments
bottom of page